MakeUseOf.com : Hacked or Domain Expired?
Alright good folks, looks like some bad folks have gotten hold of MakeUseOf.com. Usually upon visiting the site you are thrown with some cool applications and softwares that you can make use of. But this is not the case this time around. When you visit the site this is what you see,
For a site that has 20,000 plus subscribers and is a home to couple writers, we seriously doubt they would let their domain expire. I mean, come on, domain registrars send you emails quite a few times before they actually take the domain away. If they let it expire then they have to be the dumbest folks around although they have some good solid content, not renewing their domain would make them the dumbest shit.
But as far as we are concerned, we would say MakeUseOf.com has been Hacked! What do you think? Expired or Hacked?
Update #1: here is an image that shows that its not expired
Update #2 : Just confirmed that it has indeed been hacked. Here is a temporary blog where you can find information on whats going on with http://makeuseof-temporary.blogspot.com/ .



30 Rockin' Comments
November 2nd, 2008 at 8:31 pm
Domain Name: MAKEUSEOF.COM
Registrant Contact:
DomainsGame LLC
Ali Ferank
Alhana baghas nara St
Dubai, NA 85445
AE
Creation date: 03 Jul 2006 16:44:00
Expiration date: 03 Jul 2011 16:44:00
November 2nd, 2008 at 8:44 pm
thanks! Just added that information from http://who.is. We totally forgot
November 2nd, 2008 at 8:47 pm
id really like to know..im one of the writers and i have no idea whats going on
November 2nd, 2008 at 11:37 pm
ENOM hasd been phishing for weeks now telling people their domain names have expired. Looks like someone fell for it. They’ve been hitting some of my top domains claiming they were expired as well.
November 2nd, 2008 at 11:54 pm
they were hacked. check google’s cache..
http://209.85.173.104/search?q.....&gl=us
November 2nd, 2008 at 11:56 pm
@dc : We know! Check Updates on the post
November 2nd, 2008 at 11:57 pm
Just go to lifehacker.com. They steal a lot of material from MakeUseOf and other sites, so it’s like an all-in-one source!
November 3rd, 2008 at 12:07 am
@Anon : They don’t steal. They give credit to wherever they got the article from. That was a very shitty suggestion….you are a bad man
November 3rd, 2008 at 12:08 am
So all we can do is wait till the webmaster restore the website. Anyway, I hate those person who did that. It’s wasting our time.
November 3rd, 2008 at 12:13 am
Hmm, I would have to say hacked for sure!
Jiff
http://www.internet-anonymity.net.tc
November 3rd, 2008 at 12:48 am
@JiffyLube : Ohh thanks for the insight, DUH! Please read update #2 at the end of the post
November 3rd, 2008 at 12:50 am
It’ s hacked. that’s messed up.
November 3rd, 2008 at 12:55 am
You get what you pay for. Stop crying and take it up with Ali Frank
at NameCheap.com.
Registration Service Provided By: NameCheap.com
Contact: support@NameCheap.com
Visit: http://www.namecheap.com/
Domain name: makeuseof.com
Registrant Contact:
DomainsGame LLC
Ali Ferank
Alhana baghas nara St
Dubai, NA 85445
AE
Administrative Contact:
DomainsGame LLC
Ali Ferank (webs@domainsgame.org)
+1.5544415212
Fax: +1.5555555555
Alhana baghas nara St
Dubai, NA 85445
AE
Technical Contact:
DomainsGame LLC
Ali Ferank (webs@domainsgame.org)
+1.5544415212
Fax: +1.5555555555
Alhana baghas nara St
Dubai, NA 85445
AE
Status: Locked
Name Servers:
dns1.name-services.com
dns2.name-services.com
dns3.name-services.com
dns4.name-services.com
dns5.name-services.com
Creation date: 03 Jul 2006 16:44:00
Expiration date: 03 Jul 2011 16:44:00
November 3rd, 2008 at 1:13 am
I got a scam email from eNom (forged of course) asking me to update my account info.
Looks like someone bit at the hook, eh?
November 3rd, 2008 at 1:21 am
Hahaha they deserve it. Theyre always spamming digg with makeuseof crap articles they steal and rip off. they just do top five lists because theyre lazy to actually review it. then they take it and submit to digg and reddit. real original.
it was hacked by some dubaii hackers who owned them and yea they lost their credibility because they couldn’t even protect their gmail and godaddy account. you can email esengulov@gmail.com to tell him how stupid he his.
Godaddy transffered the domain to dubaii hosting company and they’re complaining to godaddy and godaddys like prove that its yours. I hope they don’t get it back hope they lose it because they don’t deserve it back they cheated on to digg every week with some top 5 list that they basically stole from small bloggers. let them lose it they suck.
November 3rd, 2008 at 1:27 am
@Stuart Hannig : Seriously Stuart, you are a douchebag.
November 3rd, 2008 at 2:23 am
Stuart is right!
@theShit: stop cursing the commenters. they are your real readers, you dumbass! Also, Anon is right! All of these big sites steal contents from small bloggers put a small link at the footer. They are just written for Digg or Redit! They deserve this, they deserve this
November 3rd, 2008 at 2:43 am
The first thing I noticed when I navigated over to their temp blog over at Blogger was that their GoDaddy hosting account was hacked. Anyone remember when Ping.fm went down about a week or so ago? They had domain issues with GoDaddy and it took about a day to get everything back up and running. Anyone seeing a pattern here? Thankfully I don’t have my site hosted with them or I’d be tempted to move it off ASAP.
November 3rd, 2008 at 2:50 am
@notTheShit : YOU JUST STOLE MY NAME! Give credit where its due just like “the big sites” do.
November 3rd, 2008 at 6:45 am
Hope they will bring back their blog soon, cause its a great ressource.
November 3rd, 2008 at 8:13 am
Photoshoped - i can tell. look at the pixels.
November 3rd, 2008 at 8:44 am
I actually used to work for a major ISP that had nation wide outages for 72 hours, why…well the first 24 hours it took them to relize their domain had expired….the other 48 hours was for the domain to re propogate to the dns
there are truly dumb people out there.
November 3rd, 2008 at 10:26 am
this really sucks. there used to be some show online about how some domain hijackers stole this very premium explicit domain name
November 3rd, 2008 at 7:53 pm
This guy Stuart is a friggin idiot!
I only hope this does not happen to him.
MakeUseOf should be getting support not rotten eggs. This is a crisis that could happen to every one.
I Can Steal YourWebsite.
http://tinyurl.com/6yqtjc
November 5th, 2008 at 2:34 pm
is that DNS hijack, or hacked from inside they server ?
February 18th, 2009 at 3:42 am
it’s in parked domain company
June 5th, 2009 at 5:14 am
That’s why monitoring your domains/whois/web sites are so important. You need a way to verify their integrity constantly….
Trackbacks
Say Something! Leave A Comment!